Insurance Denial

Hey sisters-

orthodontic_face-mask_or_reverse_pull_headgear
Looks like a medieval torture device.

Remember that horrendous headgear I had in middle school? Not the sneaky behind-the-neck headgear but the big ol’ bar-across-the-front-of-my-face hardware? I used to wake up tangled in my afghan. I’m sure there were linebacker jokes made. That horrendous headgear didn’t even do its job. Twenty years later, I’m fighting jaw pain and getting ready for jaw surgery to fix my underbite and crossbite.

Or at least I thought I was. Today, I received a letter from my insurance company declaring that the surgery won’t be covered. Ugh. Nothing knocks you down a peg like a big company who’s never met you deciding that you’re not worth fixing.

Guess I’ll start playing the lottery,

Abby

